Lt. Governor Patrick Announces Appointments to the Sunset Advisory Commission

October 26

AUSTIN – Today, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced the appointments of Sen. Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury, Sen. Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville, Sen. Dawn Buckingham, R-Lakeway, Sen. Bob Hall, R-Canton, and Emily Pataki, Cedar Park, to the Sunset Advisory Commission. Sen. Birdwell has been appointed chair. Sen. Kirk Watson will continue to serve as the lieutenant governor’s appointee. The lieutenant governor issued the following statement upon making the appointments:

“An effective and efficient government is the hallmark of conservative leadership. Those principles have made Texas strong and I am confident that these appointees will work diligently to ensure that Texas state agencies continue to operate with efficiency and accountability to best serve the people of Texas.”

Emily Pataki is the lieutenant governor’s public member appointed to the commission. She currently serves as board president of Pedernales Electric Cooperative, Inc., and is a graduate of Yale University. She is also a board member of Atec, Inc., and the Association of Women in Energy.

The Sunset Advisory Commission reviews agencies that are scheduled to be abolished by the Texas Sunset Act. Their duties include conducting public hearings and issuing a report with findings and recommendations to the legislature.


Want new articles directly to your inbox?
Subscribe to our Publishing Service.

4 + 8 =

TCJL Tracking 3-4-21

March 4, 2021 TCJL Legislative Report 87th Legislature Bills and Resolutions Filed                  4,130 Senate Bills                                        1,028 House Bills                                         2,868 House Bills Referred to Committee      1,312...

Governor Lifts Business Occupancy Limits, Ends Mask Mandate

Governor Greg Abbott today issued his 34th Executive Order relating to the COVID-19 emergency. The new order allows businesses to operate without restriction in counties without high hospitalizations. In counties that continue to have high hospitalization rates,...

House Judiciary to Hear Trucking Litigation Reform on March 9

The first bill out of the gate in the House Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Committee will be HB 19 by Chairman Leach. The bill will be heard on Tuesday, March 9, beginning at 10 a.m. This bill is one of the top priorities of House and Senate leadership (the...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This