Rep. Tryon Lewis

Rep. Tryon Lewis

Speaker Joe Straus announced committee assignments this morning. The Speaker tabbed Rep. Tryon Lewis (R-Odessa) to chair the House Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Committee. Rep. Jessica Farrar (D-Houston) will serve as vice-chair. Seniority appointments to the committee include Ana Hernandez Luna (D-Houston) and Richard Raymond (D-Laredo), while the Speaker appointments are Representatives Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi), Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston), Lance Gooden (R-Terrell), Ken King (R-Canadian), and Marsha Farney (R-Georgetown). Representative Hunter was also reappointed as chair of House Calendars Committee.

Rep. John Smithee (R-Amarillo) was reappointed as chair of House Insurance. Rep. Craig Eiland (D-Galveston) remains on the committee and will serve as vice chair. Seniority appointments go to Reps. Kenneth Sheets (R-Dallas) and Van Taylor (R-Plano), with Speaker appointments to Reps. Greg Bonnen (R-Friendswood), Brandon Creighton (R-Conroe), Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria), Sergio Munoz, Jr. (D-Mission), and Chris Turner (D-Arlington).

House Business & Industry gets a new chairman in Rep. Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville), while former chair Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont) takes over at Land & Resource Management. Rep. Dwayne Bohac (R-Houston) will serve as vice chair, along with seniority appointments Rob Orr (R-Burleson) and Armando Walle (D-Houston). Speaker appointments to the committee are Reps. Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin), Jason Villalba (R-Dallas), and Paul Workman (R-Austin).

The Dean of the House is former Speaker Tom Craddick (R-Midland). Rep. Dennis Bonnen

Committee Assignments by Committee

Committee Assignments by Member

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This