Contact: George Christian
(512) 791-1429

Texas Civil Justice League Announces New Leadership

George Christian, Senior Counsel
Lisa Kaufman, General Counsel
Carol Sims, Executive Director

October 31, 2011 (Austin)- The Texas Civil Justice League today announced the restructuring of its leadership team.

Vice President Carol Sims has been elevated to the position of Executive Director. Sims, who joined the League in 1993, will continue to be responsible for the day-to-day management and operations of the League. Lisa Kaufman, Director of Policy and Budget and Special Counsel to House Speaker Joe Straus, will represent the League as its General Counsel beginning in the spring of 2012. Kaufman, who previously served as the League’s Executive Director and General Counsel in 2007-2008 and as General Counsel and Committee Director for Senator Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock) from 1997-2007, has held the top policy post in the Speaker’s office since January 2009.

“We congratulate Carol on her promotion and are thrilled that Lisa has agreed to bring her policy development and legal expertise back to the League,” said Rob Looney, Chair of the League’s Executive Committee. “Her decade of experience in the Senate and three years as Speaker Straus’s point person on policy and budget will be invaluable to us as we enter the next phase of the League’s history.”

Shannon Ratliff and George Christian, who have provided legal and legislative representation to the League for a quarter century, will likewise continue as special counsels.

“We have assembled one of the most experienced and knowledgeable teams of any organization in Austin,” said John Fainter, Vice Chair of the League’s Executive Committee. “The League is well positioned to assist the Legislature and the courts with the difficult and complex issues facing the Texas business community in the years ahead.”

Fainter, a former Texas Secretary of State and President of the Association of Electric Companies of Texas, will succeed Rob Looney as Chair of the League’s Board and Executive Committee effective in November of this year. Looney, the longtime President of the Texas Oil and Gas Association, has served as Chair for the past five years and will continue as a member of the Board and Executive Committee. Hector Rivero, President of the Texas Chemical Council, will serve as Vice Chair. The League’s other officers include Bo Gilbert, Assistant Vice President for Government and Industry Relations for USAA, and Bill Oswald, Southwest Region Director for Koch Companies Public Sector, who serve as Treasurer and Secretary, respectively.

The Texas Civil Justice League was founded in 1986 to advocate for a fair and balanced tort system. Its policy interests have significantly expanded in recent years to encompass a broad range of business liability, risk management, and regulatory issues. Its members include hundreds of corporate businesses, law firms, professional and trade associations, health care providers, and individuals.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This